Spinach Lemon Chickpea Salad

Michael is spending the weekend in New York for work, which means I am on my own for food.  Before he left, he kindly suggested that he would just make extras of the food he was going to make that week, so I could eat leftovers for the weekend.  His kind gesture went unnoted (until now) as I quickly retorted that I could feed myself.  “It’s not that I can’t cook, Michael!  It’s just that you’re so much better at it, and you like it, so why should I?”  We both knew that for the most part that was true, but a little part of me was nervous about how hungry I would be over the weekend.  So far, I have been sufficiently stuffed!

My lunch today was a great combo of all things in my fridge, and packed a lot of protein.  Easy to substitute, I actually adapted it from this recipe here, and as you can tell, I did a lot of switching around.

Spinach Lemon Chickpea Salad

  • 1 C cooked chickpeas
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1/4 C onion, chopped finely
  • juice from 1/2 lime
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 10-12 grape tomatoes, cut in half
  • 1/2 C sprouts, optional
  • salt, to taste

IMG_1034If chickpeas are not already cooked, cook them now by following directions on can, or putting them in a pot, covering them with water, and cooking until tender.  Make sure they don’t run out of water.  Add chopped garlic to saucepan with olive oil, cook for one minute.  Once minute is up, add onion and spinach together, cook for two-three minutes.

Place chickpeas in a serving bowl, adding spinach mixture, and blending together.  Add tomatoes and sprouts.

I suppose if I did mess this up, I would be too ashamed to make anything but a decent sandwich from then on.  Long live an easy meal!

IMG_1035

IMG_1036

Let us know your thoughts

