Oatmeal Cookies

I have been toying with the idea of going gluten-free.  Nothing crazy, just enough so that the majority of my diet doesn’t contain gluten.  After experimenting for about a week, I concluded I felt much more energized, healthier, and happier when I omitted gluten from my diet!  That doesn’t mean I am going to pass up everything gluten, but why not try out gluten free cookies?

IMG_1181

Oatmeal Cookies, adapted from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook

  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 1/4 C butter or margarine, softened
  • 1/4 C shortening ( I used a little less)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 C quick oats (make sure they are gluten free, try these)
  • 1 C gluten free all purpose baking flour (found here)

Heat oven to 375 degrees.  Mix all ingredients, except for oats and flour. Stir in oats and flour.  Drop dough by rounded teaspoons about 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake until light brown, about 10 minutes.  Remove from sheet immediately.

Makes about two dozen cookies.

Note:  the gf baking flour I used is made out of garbanzo flour, potato starch, tapioca flour, sorghum flour, and fava flour.  I noticed, especially when testing the batter, that the taste was a bit metalic-y.  The flavor became more subtle when baked, but just keep in mind that although this flour is a great alternative, it has a different flavor than regular flour.  My family didn’t seem to notice, though!

IMG_1182Happy Baking!

IMG_1183

How do you feel about gluten free foods?

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cookies

  1. I’m grateful that there are so many gf foods available now. When I found out I was wheat allergic in 2005 that wasn’t the case. Of course, it was easier on my weight when there wasn’t frozen gf pizza and breads – but I’m happy for the convenience it offers! The cookies look great. I will try them.

    • It is nice to see that people with gluten and wheat allergies don’t have to go hungry, Sherri! Thanks for checking out the recipe, can’t wait to hear how it works for you!

  2. Hey hey! A lot of people report similar results to limiting gluten. I definitely think it’s important to not completely shun the stuff because everything makes you feel badly when not balanced and being all intuitive and such. My cray stomach issues have lead me to avoid it as well, but I still have a little sometimes just to keep my mind happy. Like you said, GF flour is a whole different ball game from regular wheat, but it has something new to offer in the baking world. Rather than completely “replacing” with it, I like to cook to exhibit what IT has to offer rather than try to always make it “work” where wheat played a centralized role, you know? Kind of like the difference between whole grain vs white flours. They have different textures and flavors and something different to offer.

    Okay, gluten dissertation over, I’m glad your cookies turned out. Miss you, girl!

Let us know your thoughts

