Oatmeal Bars

Can you tell I am on a kick?  I really enjoy oatmeal, where it be for breakfast, dessert, or anywhere in between.  I went out to lunch with my dad yesterday to Southport Grocery, which is just about the cutest place on the planet.  Although we both ordered the hash (with no regrets!) the table next to us was served up some seriously good looking baked oatmeal.  I mean, you could have told me it was an almond cobbler and I would have believed you.

Anyways, I tried out another oatmeal and gluten free recipe.  This time, the gluten free was on accident though, since in my haste to stock my pantry with all varieties of Bob’s Red Mill, I neglected to buy flour.  Oops.  I was worried they might turn out a little strange, but I was pleasantly surprised-they were heavenly!

108_6096

Oatmeal Bars

  • 1 c all purpose gluten free flour
  • 1 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 3/4 c butter
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/4 c coconut milk (I rarely use cow’s milk in my recipes, so feel free to use that or any alternative, such as almond or hemp)
  • 2 c quick oats
  • 1 1/4 c chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375

Whisk flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl. With a mixer, beat sugar and butter on medium-high until fluffy.  Beat in vanilla.  Slow mixer’s speed and add in milk.  Add flour mixture.  Stir in oats and 1 c chocolate chips.

Spread batter into pan and bake for 35 minutes, or until edges are golden brown.  Once cool, melt and drizzle remaining chips onto top.  Enjoy!

108_6092

Let us know your thoughts

