Herb & Garlic Crackers

I must admit, I have a bit of an addiction.  Almost every day for the past two years I have eaten rice crackers and hummus for lunch.  You would think I would become bored with the flavor, but those two things are right up there with ice cream on my favorite foods list.  The problem I was running into, however, was that buying rice crackers that often was getting a little expensive, not to mention I prefer to make things I eat that frequently myself.  I searched high and low (actually, just pinterest) for a gluten free recipe that didn’t involve complicated ingredients and baking methods.  Alas, I found the secret in a cookbook I recently picked up and have since fallen in love with.  “Super Foods” has since become my bible in terms of healthy cooking goes, you should check it out!

108_6089

Herb & Garlic Crackers

  • 1 1/4 c almond meal
  • 1/2 t sea salt
  • 1/2 c sesame seeds
  • 1 1/2 t finely chopped herbs (I used rosemary, but feel free to play around with your favorite, or perhaps create a mix)
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed and chopped
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 T EVOO

Preheat oven to 345.

Combine almond meal, salt, sesame seeds, herbs, and garlic in a bowl.  Whisk egg in a separate bowl, adding in olive oil.  Pour the egg mixture into dry mixture and combine by kneading with your hands to create a smooth dough.  If necessary   mix in a little water to bring it together.

Roll the dough out on a sheet of parchment paper so it is about half an inch thick.  Place the prepared baking sheet face down over the dough, and then flip the two together so the dough is now on top.  Peel off the paper.

Using a sharp knife or pizza cutter, cut dough into two inch thick squares.  Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until golden.  Remove from oven and allow to cool completely before serving.

Makes about 35 crackers.

Enjoy!

108_6088

Is there something you love to eat but wish you could make yourself?

Let us know your thoughts

