Mini Frittatas

My love affair with eggs began my junior year of high school.  An avid cereal eater, the thought of cooking up something every morning that had fallen out of a chicken simply didn’t appeal to me.  Maybe it was because my experience thus far with the breakfast egg consisted mostly of the rubbery Holiday Inn Express variety that was served up whenever my family went on vacation.  However, that all changed when my best friend, Hannah, invited me up to her cabin in rural Michigan.

I rose early on a crisp summer morning to the smell of breakfast.  The cabin, about 600 feet, made the smell from the kitchen to the bedroom an even more permeable one.  Hannah and her dad were already up, and never a morning person, she silently motioned for me to grab plates and set the table on the porch.  I obliged  not sure what was coming next.

It was easily the world’s simplest breakfast, but also one of the best.  A huge platter of scrambled eggs, toast, bacon, and hasbrowns were plopped down and eaten by us hungry travelers in moments.  It was delicious, and in that moment, I realized that eggs maybe weren’t so bad after all.

Now don’t get me wrong, my own family has made their heavenly share of breakfasts.  My mom’s hazelnut french toast is one of the best things on this planet, and my grandma can make cinnamon rolls that put Cinnabon out of business.  But it wasn’t until that day I realized you could make a special breakfast with ingredients aside from bread and sugar.

There are a few great things about this recipe.  1) it is a simple, yet impressive looking dish that is large enough to make for house guests 2) you can make them today and have breakfast for a week! 3) changing the recipe to add what you want is so easy.  You could make these cheesy, with broccoli, with bacon…anything!

108_6101

Mini Frittatas, adapted from Super Foods

  • 1 T EVOO
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 6 eggs
  • 3 T almond milk
  • 6 cherry tomatos, quartered
  • 1 handful spinach, or arugula

Preheat oven to 345

Heat olive oil in a skillet and fry the onion over low heat until carmalized (about 8 minutes)

In a bowl, whisk the eggs and almond milk together, then stir in the tomatoes, spinach, and caramelized onion.  Season with sea salt and pepper.

Divide the mixture among the muffin holes and bake for 20 minutes, or until they have set.  Allow to cool a little before removing from sheet.

Enjoy!

108_6099

What’s your favorite breakfast?

One thought on “Mini Frittatas

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Meal in the World | HUNGRY, MOSTLY

Let us know your thoughts

