Springtime Cupcakes

Cupcakes are something I am always weary about making.  The problem is, I eat way too much of the batter and frosting before I have actually assembled the two and am left with a major tummy ache.  I have such good constraint in my life, but not with cupcakes!

Anyways, when I saw these cupcakes on this blog, the cupcake itch started to creep up again.  Lavender is one of the best things about spring, and with an expected 8 inches of snow this weekend here in Chicago, I figured I needed to make some spring of my own.

Unfortunately, the recipe was a bit of a failure for me.  The frosting tasted a lot like butter and nothing like lavender and my cupcakes were a little dry.  My roommate was kind enough to let me borrow some of his wheat flour, but I didn’t want to take it all and substituted the cake flour for my gluten free mix.  This is my conclusion: when making a special treat such as this, just use all the ingredients the recipe calls for.  There is nothing more disappointing than wanting a delicious goody and having it come out subpar.  Alas, the recipe below is what I would do to fix this failure and turn it into something delicious!  Not to mention, this recipe is great for testing out your skills with different frostings, without being too complicated.  This is the first time I have ever attempted a frosting half on the stove and half in a mixer!

108_6113

Lavender and Vanilla Cupcakes, as adapted from http://www.abeautifulmess.com

  • 3/4 c all purpose flour
  • 3/4 c cake flour
  • 1/2 T baking powder
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/2 c softened butter
  • 3/4 c sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1/2 c milk

Preheat oven to 350

Cream together the softened butter and sugar, until whipped.  Add eggs, one at a time, then stir in the vanilla extract. In another bowl whisk together all dry ingredients. Add half the flour mixture to the butter mixture, stir to combine. Stir in half of the milk. Repeat until  all is mixed.

Fill cupcakes liners to 2/3 full and bake for 15-18 minutes, or until edges brown.

Lavender Frosting

  • 1 c milk
  • 1/2 T lavender buds
  • 5 T all purpose flour
  • 1/2 c softened butter
  • 1 c granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c powdered sugar
  • purple food dye (optional)

In a pot heat the milk and lavender buds over low/medium heat. While still on low heat, allow buds to steep in milk for five minutes, or longer for an intenser flavor.  In a fine mesh strainer, remove the buds and return the milk to the heat.  Begin whisking in all the four, keeping heat at low medium.  Whisk until mixture resembles a liquid paste, much like gravy.  Remove from heat.

Cream together the softened butter and granulated sugar until fluffy in a mixer. Add the flour mixture and blend until smooth. Add dye. Blend in 1/2 c powdered sugar, adding more if you like your frostings sweeter.  Let both cupcakes and frosting cool before coring cupcakes (I use this cupcake corer, which is a handy investment for $5), or you can cut a inverted triangle with a knife.  Pour frosting in and enjoy!

108_6112

108_6114

What’s your sweet tooth weakness?

Let us know your thoughts

