Chocolatey Goodness (gluten free) Muffins

108_6122

There is something to be said for a truly delicious muffin.  Done right, it should make you feel as if you are floating on a cloud, biting into something amazing, and quite possibly nutritious.  It’s evil cousin, the cupcake, although delicious, can leave you with a sugar crash, upset tummy, or raging headache, but not the muffin.  Bistros and cafes around the world serve these as a breakfast, health stores tout them as a miracle food (depending on the recipe, of course) and I am here to tell you they are fantastic.  Since I am frequently tricked into believing a muffin pan is only good for cupcakes (I know, that doesn’t even make sense), I oft forget how much I love these things.

Yesterday, I found a website that directed me to the ten best muffins in Chicago.  Having tried none of them, I decided my only choice was to make the long journey over to Reno or Little Goat Bread, or make my own.  Remembering I had a food blog to contribute to, I chose the latter.

This recipe is originally called an espresso chocolate muffin, but considering it did not have espresso in it, and tasted nothing like coffee, I omitted that from the name.  However, this might have been due to the fact that my coffee was less than strong, so if you like coffee flavored foods, I suggest you make the strongest pot of coffee and reap the benefits of that delicious flavor.  If not, make a weak pot and call it a day.

108_6124

  • 2 C almond flour
  • 1/4 C cocoa powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1/4 C honey
  • 1/4 C olive oil
  • 1/4 C strong coffee, cold
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 C chocolate chips (I used dark chocolate, but feel free to use semi-sweet for a sweeter muffin)
  • powdered sugar, for sprinkling (optional)

Preheat oven to 375.

In a large bowl, whisk together almond flour, cocoa powder, salt, and baking powder.  In a seperate bowl, honey, oil, coffee, vanilla, egg, and baking soda.  Pour the wet mixture together with the dry and combine until blended.  Add the chocolate chips and stir.

Fill muffin pan with mixture, leaving each hole about 3/4 of the way full.  Bake for 15-18 minutes or until muffins are browned.  Remove and allow to cool.  Sprinkle with sugar.

Enjoy!

108_6126

108_6127

What is your favorite muffin recipe?

4 thoughts on “Chocolatey Goodness (gluten free) Muffins

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Chocolate Cherry Muffins | Katie's Kick-Ass Kitchen

Let us know your thoughts

