Saturday Special

Sometimes when I am scrolling through Pinterest, browsing a local culinary shop, or reading about all the new restaurants via Bon Appetit, I get a little giddy.  My guess is, since you’re reading a food blog, that you do, too.  I know you share my love of all things new in the food world, so every Saturday I’m giving you a little treat.  A spotlight on a restaurant I’m drooling over, a recipe I’m dying to try, or a cool new tool that I wish was nestled next to my stand mixer.  So, without further ado, today’s Saturday Special is:

Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream

Photo courtesy of Serious Eats, Brad Thomas Parsons

Photo courtesy of Serious Eats, Brad Thomas Parsons

After hearing about Jeni and here handmade creamy goods, I was hooked.  Starting in Ohio, and now with locations in Tennessee and Chicago, the ice cream is made in small batches, with an attention to detail.  Constantly developing new flavors, like Brambleberry crisp and Riesling poached pear sorbet, making a trip to a scoop shop almost seems like a necessity to life.  Now that I am back in Chicago, I plan to run to the one on Southport and devour my share of heavenly yumminess.

Let us know your thoughts

